Rosie Huntington-Whiteley on the red carpet 

Photo: Getty

Celebrating British Fashion, the 2013 British Fashion Awards took place last night and there were even a few surprising winners. One of the biggest surprises making headlines today is that ‘One Direction’ singer Harry Styles scooped up the British Style Award ahead of the likes of Kate Moss and Alexa Chung. Also taking home a prize, British model Kate Moss was honored for her long career with a Special Recognition Award.

Christopher Kane was delighted to win Womenswear Designer of the Year Award, while Burberry took home the equivalent prize for their Menswear designs. Prada was given a nod as best International Designer and Nicolas Kirkwood was praised for his always outstanding accessories. British model Edie Campbell took home one of the most coveted awards – the ‘Model of the Year’ title.

Net-a-Porter founder Natalie Massenet commented on the night:

“The roll call of winners announced this evening is a phenomenal display of talent in the fashion industry. The British Fashion Awards gives us the chance to commend not only the winners but celebrate all of the individuals that contribute to the incredible achievements that make London the best fashion destination in the world. I’m incredibly proud to be a part of the ceremony this evening, set in the heart of our creative capital; it provides the perfect climax to a truly momentous year of British fashion.”

See the full list of winners below!

Womenswear Designer of the Year – Christopher Kane
Menswear Designer of the Year – Burberry
International Designer of the Year – Miuccia Prada for Prada
Designer Brand of the Year – Burberry
Accessory Designer of the Year – Nicholas Kirkwood
Emerging Womenswear Designer – Simone Rocha
Emerging Menswear Designer – Agi & Sam
New Establishment Designer – JW Anderson
Model of the Year – Edie Campbell
Red Carpet Award – Erdem
Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator – Lady Amanda Harlech
British Style Award brought to you by Vodafone (voted by the public) – Harry Styles
Special Recognition Award – Kate Moss
Special Recognition Award – Suzy Menkes
Outstanding Achievement in Fashion – Terry and Tricia Jones, founders of i-D